top of page

3 gripes from an angry feminist


Three things this week got under my skin. This is why I am a feminist, because this crap is doing us harm!

3. Faux Diversity - I am so inspired by a number of the body positive movements, Taryn Brumfit would probably be one of my fav’s with her doco Embrace. I probably sway a bit more towards body neutrality but either way I think the messages are what the world needs to hear more of. What troubles me is that these messages are popular (although rarely acted upon) and because of this high profile people like to jump on the bandwagon and benefit from the message when really what they are ‘selling’ is quite the opposite. Being a white, blonde, size 8 model rather than size 6 is not diverse, it is not a win for women. Quite often these people talk about wanting to be the face of having more body shapes on the screen. What concerns me is that size 8 is still exceptionally thin. These women still typically have all the features of what society classes as beautiful. We need to see sizes 12, 14, 16, plus on the screens and their weight shouldn’t be the butt of jokes or have story lines around getting healthy or having health problems. I want to see rolls and thighs that touch, I want dimples and imperfections. There is nothing more inspiring to me than an ordinary woman, they are still so rare to see.

2. Chick Lit – I love reading stories about relationships. Whether it’s between lovers, family, friends or the community. Quite often these fictional stories get classified as Chick Lit. It frustrates me that when there is something that predominately women are interested in its given a cutesy name and we all feel a bit silly. However sport, take cricket for example, where men stand around on a field hitting a ball with a plank of wood gets prime coverage on the evening news. Things that interest men are deemed important where something of typically women's interest is childish , or not intellectual. I would say that there is almost nothing more important on this earth then the connections we have with each other, its what keeps the world turning.

1. Lean In – Women talking to women about ‘women’s issues’. I am a fan of Sheryl Sandberg, I think the voice she provides for women in the workplace is powerful and inspiring. Lean In circles have made there way to my workplace and I believe that although their is merit in the intention of Lean In Circles in the way Sandberg had imagined the reality of them is quite the opposite. I work for a global organisation that turns over $420M+ here in Australia alone. We routinely hear about a diverse workplace we work in that supports women. In a recent newsletter HR investigated equal pay and were proud to report there was 'no gap'. There is 14 weeks of paid maternity leave and as mentioned Lean In circles. Sounds good in principle right? But what gets failed to be mentioned is that there is not a single women leading people in a team of over 80 (amongst sales and service) that has any revenue responsibility. Thats right, $420M on the shoulders of exclusively men. See women know theres a problem, women don't need to talk to women about it, what we need is for men to realise that the problem is them. Their bias's continue to lead a path that is destined for men at the top. I may be paid the same as my colleagues but my opportunity is very different. I would dare say that it is the men that need to 'Lean In' and start listening to our decades worth of protest.

The more we talk about and call out bullshit that puts women down or hinders progress toward equality the better the world will be.

bottom of page